Just A Little Bit of Love: Character Interview + Book Blast

ines4

Hi, darlings!

One of my favorite authors Ines Bautista Yao has just released JUST A LITTLE BIT OF LOVE  and what better way to celebrate it than with an interview with one of the characters in the book, Anita! But first, check this cover and blurb out:

just a little bit of love

Three short stories about three young girls: Anita, Ina, and Carla. Each one finding their lives disrupted by a boy. Maybe it’s because he wanders into the coffee shop where she works after school every Tuesday. Maybe it’s because he won’t leave her alone even if she has made it clear that she is crushing on his football teammate. Or maybe it’s because she’s spent one unforgettable afternoon with him—despite being oh-so-forgetful. Three small doses of love that serve up a whole lot of feels.

Purchase Here:

Amazon

Buqo

_____________________________________________________

Too pretty, right? The cover was done by Martina Bautista, the author’s sister. I guess creativity really runs in the blood, eh? 🙂

Anyway, I personally liked Anita because for me, she sort of resembles the wallflower in all of us. There are times when it seems like all we could do is watch the world from afar–but that doesn’t mean we don’t have our own stories (and this book shows just that, and more!). It shows that background characters have their own lives, too–just like each of us have our own stories, as well.

Okay, I’ll stop dilly-dallying now. Check out my interview with Anita below!

_______________________________________________________

Hi, Anita! Since you work in a coffee shop, you seem to see everyone coming in, and probably have “inklings” about what kind of people the customers are most of the time. My first question is, what is it like being in the background all the time? Was there ever a time when you felt like you want people to at least focus on you for a bit–and not just when they are getting their orders?

Hi, Cass! Thanks for having me! 

I usually enjoy being in the background. You notice so much about people when you aren’t the center of attention. There have even been times when people keep talking to each other even if I’m right there waiting for them to give me their order. When that happens, I guess I’m too shy to interrupt, so I patiently wait and (this is kind of embarrassing) I listen to them. How can I not? If they suddenly turn to me with their orders and I’m not attentive, they’ll think I’m rude and Mom says that’s a big no-no! I guess the only time I really want to be noticed is in school by my classmates and … by him. When it comes to cute guys in the shop, I like to imagine all sorts of back stories for them, I never approach them, just watch them from a distance. But there’s something different about this one. 

 What’s one thing people would be surprised to know about you?

That when I was a kid, I used to take gymnastics. I was really good at it but schedules got in the way and I eventually had to stop. Maybe it’s something I can do again. 

 What’s one of the most unforgettable things you’ve noticed happened in the shop?

Right now, the most unforgettable thing was when Chris stormed out. He’s such a nice guy, it kind of made my heart ache to see him in so much pain. I can’t help but wonder what hurt him so much. 

 Let’s talk about friendship. What’s one thing you’ve learned about it? Do you feel more comfortable around Katie and the gang now?

Yes. Megan isn’t really that bad. It’s also me, I guess. I judged her before trying to get to know her. I think that’s what my problem is. When I stopped taking gymnastics, I sort of lost my confidence and stayed away from people in school who intimidated me. I know I should push myself and give other people a chance too. 

And lastly, it’s no secret that coffee shops are often deemed to be places where love stories could start or progress. My final question is…do you believe in love? What is it for you? 

I didn’t know coffee shops where venues for love stories! But maybe that’s why my mom was dying to put up one of her own. She’s a romantic. Me, not so much. But maybe that’s just because I haven’t experienced love. I can’t really say what love is, but I hope that when I find it, I’ll recognize it. At least that’s what my mom tells me. 

______________________________________________________

Learn more about Anita, Ina, and Carla by reading JUST A LITTLE BIT OF LOVE! You can get it from Amazon and Buqo! 

______________________________________________________

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Ines Bautista-Yao is the author of One Crazy Summer, What’s in your Heart, and Only a Kiss. She has also written two short stories, “Flashbacks and Echoes,” which is part of a compilation called All This Wanting and “A Captured Dream,” one of the four short stories in Sola Musica: Love Notes from a Festival.

She is the former editor-in-chief of Candy and K-Zone magazines and a former high school and college English and Literature teacher. She is also a wife and mom and blogs about the many challenges and joys of motherhood at theeverydayprojectblog.com. She has recently launched The Author Project, a section in her current blog devoted to the stories in her head.

Connect with her through:

Twitter and Instagram: @inesbyao 
